Technology Envy (or Fear?)

May 18, 2010 at 9:00 am 2 comments

Social Media and Technology : Eating and Cooking.

The two go together, of course, but in no way are they exclusive pairs. I mean, you can thoroughly enjoy the first without skills in the second. So don’t let Techno-Fear keep you from fully enjoying social media.

That small percentage of passionate people can keep all our Techno Hunger fully satisfied.

First of all, there is no scientific backing to this whatsoever. But that never stopped anyone else from making up numbers, so it won’t stop me.

I spend a good deal of time on Twitter and in other social media zones, but I place myself fully in the green “Techno-Envy” zone of that pie chart. I’m trying not to let it get the better of me. And it doesn’t. Sure, I still long for an iPhone and to become “Mayor” of somewhere. But I am completely happy with what I can do in and around social media.

I interact with far too many people, however, who are in the Fear zone, afraid to explore even Facebook for fear their entire personal life will instantly be broadcast to the world. I also come across a number of business leaders who simply refuse to explore even the simplest possibilities of a LinkedIn “company profile,” or the depth of Twitter search for brand sentiment analysis.

Here’s my hope as a self-proclaimed “social media advocate.” I hope that people who have a fear will simply embrace one technology tool for its most simple rewards. Try the above-mentioned Twitter search (search.twitter.com). You don’t even need a Twitter account. Or go to Flickr.com with a few digital photos, create an account (you may already have one through Yahoo!), then post and share a few images. I did this again recently with some shots of roses in my backyard, and I made a new “friend” – in Italy, I believe – who likes rose photos.

And if, like me, you’re Green with Envy, just relax and let the amazing tech geeks create all the beautiful tools for us to enjoy.

Will you try this, today?

Entry filed under: Communications, Social Media.

FYI: EAAU, ASAP! Your Grandma Created Social Media

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle from ECS  |  May 18, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Hi Glenn: Thanks so much for presenting at ECS Irvine today! I am definitely looking into Crush It for social media and plan to use Alltop as a blog aggregator. I would love to stay connected with you as I occasionally am asked to put together social media activities as part of a larger campaign. Pls kindly respond to my LinedIn invite to you. Regards, Michelle the HR person who knows technology.

    Reply
    • 2. hansenhouse  |  May 18, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      Thanks Michelle. Crush It is full of helpful advice, my copy is always on my desk as a reference.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates


