Here’s to #11, and #12 …

November 17, 2009 at 12:39 am Leave a comment

A lot of people like lists, especially Top Ten lists. And especially those that lead to that elusive Number 1 ranking. You gotta be the best. There can be only one No. 1. Who is gonna come out on top?

Personally, I’m not a fan. In fact, I’m more than likely to go off that Top Ten list. I’m going to choose #11, maybe #12, or even further down the list. Yes, part of it is just me being difficult. But mostly it’s me trying to find what I really like, trying to get the complete story, not just going with the crowd.

When crowds of people line up to see a movie just because a crowd of people is lined up, I don’t understand that. One of my favorite movies is “The Station Agent.” I don’t think anyone waited in line to see it. But I’d take it over “Titanic.”

I don’t want to talk about movies. But I do want to talk about lists. I like lists, but they have to go beyond Top Ten, and you need to begin your reading at Number 11, and then keep going further.

I’m sitting here watching CNN and my pal Anderson Cooper (he’s not really my personal pal, but I do respect the guy’s work). He and CNN are running their 2nd annual CNN Heroes special. They’ve recently announced the Top Ten; you can read about these select list makers, and vote on your choice for Number 1. Don’t do it. I beg you, don’t do it.

I normally don’t pay attention to these “special” shows, these lists and seeming popularity contests. But I caught parts of this special in 2008, and it was moving. But not because of the list of Top Ten Heroes, and certainly not because of the No. 1 CNN Hero of 2008. Wait, this Winner of Heroes and the top nine others did amazing things. Their work is to be commended, and I thank CNN for producing the show. But most powerful was the EveryHero story. The story of Numbers 11, 12, and more.

Go to CNN.com now for the complete story of Heroes. You’ll read inspiring stories that may move you to act in your own neighborhood.

And start with #11. There is a lot more to it than just the “Titanic.” If you’re really lucky, you’ll find “The Station Agent” in here, too.

Entry filed under: Communications, journalism, Uncategorized, Writing. Tags: , , , .

I’m Curious. I Think Therefore I Thank

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates


