Give – whatever ya got

June 26, 2009 at 8:11 am Leave a comment

I gave of myself yesterday – a blood donation. No big deal, my body made more while I slept.

Next week, a complete stranger gives of herself – a kidney donation to my father in Wisconsin. Her body will not grow another kidney overnight. I have not met her yet. I pray that I am given the opportunity to meet her, to hug and thank her. And perhaps even to learn from her.

I’m not trying to compare her donation and mine. Nor can I feel guilty about keeping my organs. I could not donate a kidney to my father; no immediate family member was a match. Plus, I know that my blood donations – I try to do this a few times a year – do help people. It may even save a life. I do it because I can, it’s fairly easy and painless.

I am registered as an “organ donor” but did I really consider a living donation? Not until recently. Lots of people register this way, thinking that – heaven forbid – in a life-taking accident, their organs could be used to save another life or two. And it’s admirable for all who do register as organ donors. But to sign up and give a bodily organ that you’re still using is truly miraculous.

And not an uncommon miracle. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network, roughly 6,000 such donors help provide these miracles annually. Each and every one a life-saving, life-sharing, life-giving miracle. Giving – a part of yourself – truly.

And according to Donate Life America, approximately 100,000 men, women and children currently need life-saving organ transplants. I’m gonna look into it.

Entry filed under: Personal.

Coffee by the Beach – Laguna Beach Divine Wheels?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


