5 Ways To Restore Your Senses

May 29, 2009 at 10:58 pm 3 comments

It’s been a long week (month, year?!). You’re tired. You feel overwhelmed. You don’t know how much more you can take of the grind of this economy, of the routine, of the daily grind.

I have 5 sure-fire methods guaranteed to restore your senses, your spirit, your enthusiasm and your drive. And you have the entire weekend to get them done. Seriously, you can handle at least 4 of these 5 – begin tonight.

1. Build something – anything – with your hands. If you have the time and tools, this could mean a complete bathroom makeover. For the other 99% of you, it could mean a birdhouse. In my garage one night this week, I found some scrap wood, paint and house numbers, and I built an colorful and effective frame so people will actually be able to see the home address. I used hand tools and it took about one hour. This could even be a simple art project with your kids; just make sure to display your finished work as a reminder of what you can do!

Tip # 5. Get off the freeway - way off if possible!

Tip # 5. Get off the freeway - way off if possible!


2. Close Facebook and pick up the phone. If you have to ask your Facebook friend for a phone number, that’s fine. I am sure the actual conversation – remember those? – will be worthwhile. And if it’s not, then you should rethink that particular Facebook friend status. Pick up the phone (and talk into it; don’t just send an SMS).

3. Re-read a book, particularly one you haven’t read for a long time. I recently found Siddhartha (Hesse) in a box in my garage. I first read this in college, and found it amazing – that’s why I saved it for so long. But on the second reading, it was even better. I have an entire list of re-reads ahead of me, including Breakfast of Champions (Vonnegut), A Brief History of Time (Hawking) and all of Shakespeare’s Sonnets.

4. Focus – on whatever you’re doing (that reminds me to re-read Kierkegaard, too). I was drinking coffee the other day – doing research for a story on coffee. And I completely focused on the coffee, nothing else. How often does any working professional do that any more? Even writing this note, I’m thinking about the next one. I need to focus. Take some time and Focus on a single thing. You’ll appreciate it more, especially if it’s a great cup of coffee.

5. Get off the Freeway. Much to the dislike of my 16-year-old son, I choose the side roads over the freeway. Especially when traveling, I favor scenic neighborhoods and getting lost of two-lane back roads. This is not meant to be a “life is a journey” metaphor. Really, it’s as simple as finding better and more interesting restaurants on these side streets. Unless you like rest-stop vending machines ….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Take The Test Brand vs. Bucks. Or … Is “Generic” a Brand?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bohndaddy  |  May 30, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Glenn-O,

    Went for my morning dog(s) walk, poured a cup of coffee and settled down to read a couple of your posts. Inspiring content, dude. This weekend I’m going to fix Casey’s bike (focus) AND take a. crack at building a bird house out of scrap.

    Hope all is well with you all!

    Reply
  • 2. Chazily  |  June 6, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Is it OK that I am commenting on your blog and not to you on Facebook? 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. hansenhouse  |  June 8, 2009 at 5:15 am

      You can comment where’er you like my friend. Just keep reading.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


