Great Reading is in the Form

May 11, 2009 at 6:14 pm 4 comments

It’s a great time to be a reader. No matter your favorite genre, material is everywhere for the reading. On newsprint, glossy, or in any number of electronic forms – the “printed” word is ubiquitous.

And I must admit I’ve read some good stuff lately. The latest in Esquire on Drinking. The ramblings of the editor of the Chino Hills Champion. World news through the lens of japantoday.com. The latest rantings from bloggers on politico.com, and more.

But the best thing I have read all week, all month, maybe all year was penned by a relatively unknown author from a small town in west-central Wisconsin. His writings have been intermittent at best over the years. For a variety of reasons, however, he’s turned prolific of late. His work not only gets more frequent, but has certainly improved with time, and age. The man is showing intense emotion, incredible character detail, and a sense of place that competes with O’Connor, Twain, and the best.

The production value is lacking, and his copy editor is less-than-perfect. But I can’t put the guy down, and I eagerly await the next installment.

You can’t find this author on Amazon.com. Barnes and Noble stores don’t carry his work. You won’t even find it in the blog-o-sphere.

Fine Writing

It comes only to my mailbox. The author – Wayne Hansen – is my father. The hand-printed work comes on personalized note-size paper, and there is often a newspaper clipping tucked inside. Once, I told my dad that all this could be found online, and simply e-mailed to me. Am I glad he did not take my advice on that one.

Best of all, your own work can be equally prized – for the cost of a simple stamp.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Remembering “Social” Oh, The People You’ll Meet, or “Best of Times”

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy Schultz  |  May 11, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    This was lovely, Glenn. For far too long I’ve wanted to mail a proper letter to someone, and I can’t offer any excuse as to why I’ve not done this.

    I now have inspiration. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 2. Dennis J.  |  May 11, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Hey Glenn, really enjoying your blogging. You’ve got a nice touch.

    d.

    Reply
  • 3. hansenhouse  |  May 11, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    I am actually going to print this, hand-write on it, and mail it to my Dad. Doubt he’ll find this Blog, and even if he did, it’d be better received with the personal touch.

    Glenn

    Reply
  • 4. Tom Willig  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Simple, yet powerful message Glenn. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates


